Do you believe in Magic?

I have a new and fascinating writing prompt from The Daily Post! As a writer of fantasy it just screams for me to blog it up:

You have been transformed into a mystical being who has the ability to do magic. Describe your new abilities in detail. How will you use your new skills?

In my Fantasy series The Hunted Mage Trilogy, the mage-in-training, Eyulf learns to harness the building blocks of magic using the power of Rune-Singing, with catastrophic results. So the prompt question above is important to me.

I worked hard at the cause and effect of Eyulf’s power. (A lot of sleepless nights during my writing process making sure it made sense.) What happens to a magic user when he plies his trade?

As with Newton’s Third law: When one body exerts a force on a second body, the second body simultaneously exerts a force equal in magnitude and opposite in direction to that of the first body.

And the Law of the Conservation of Energy:  Energy can be neither created nor destroyed, but can change form.

Eyulf cannot simply work magic without affecting himself or the world around him. If he Sings Runes that summon Light, they must come from somewhere and leave Darkness in their place.

He draws the Element of Fire out of a foe and leaves him frozen but the cold, packed earth of the floor was left steaming and soft from the stolen heat flowing into it.

So when I answer the question above, I think of these things.

I would Teleport! Teleportation is the theoretical transfer of matter from one point to another without traversing the physical space between them.

I hate going places! I hate going places with the unharnessed fury of the Sun. I like BEING places! Don’t get me wrong. Love places! Would love to see all the most fascinating sites the world has to offer me. But the actual physical process of Getting There? Not so much.

So if I gained this magical power, how would that affect me? Would there be some sort of caloric burn that would move me from one place to another? If I wanted to blip from Home to New York City would I lose 5 pounds?

If I brought someone WITH me would I lose 10 pounds or would they lose weight as well? Do I co-market my new power with Weight-Watchers(TM) and get to quit my day job by charging someone to transport them and burn of the calories?

If I go too far away would I shrivel up and die?

So many questions sprout in my head for what should be a very simple question and answer. But I like thinking about such things and working them out in my head…and now, through the miracle of the Inter-Webs, in YOUR head as well!

Do I believe Magic exists now? No. But I want to! I see the everyday magic of doing someone a good turn and seeing suspicion turn into relief or even happiness. I see the magic in my daughter’s eyes when I do something she can’t and is amazed at what her Da can do. (That is the very best of all super powers!)

I see the Dark Magic of road rage and violence growing stronger.  Stupid tv dumbs down the imaginations of kids stealing that magic from them. It leaves us all weaker every day.

There are so many more little Magics out there, Good and Bad! It makes me dream of the Bigger, Ancient Magics we have lost…and thus, I write!

Do you believe? Poll it up below and send me comments. I want to hear some of those magical moments you’ve encountered!

2 thoughts on “Do you believe in Magic?”

Leave a Reply

