Time crunch! In more ways than one!!

So…having decided to E-publish my novel HUNTSMAN: Book One of The Hunted Mage Trilogy by the end of the month I have begun to scurry frantically about in the pages of my story.

My timeline maaay have been a bit optimistic, but I will persevere.

On my to-do list:

1) Write a Prologue that my wife and I both feel is what my magic system needs before my Mage shows up in chapter two. (He also needs a bit more character development before things all go desperately awry later…but no spoilers!)

2) Add some character description. Alert beta-readers have pointed out that I leave too much to your individual ImaginoTransferenceDevices. (Thanks to Jasper Fforde and the Jurisfiction Team) In short, I haven’t described my characters enough. I am great with scenery, tho.

3) I am finding bits that do not match up in my story timeline and have to go back in and make sure winter stays where I put it instead of disappearing for the next chapter…that’s my first time crunch!

4) Format my work according to Smashwords, Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble guidelines. (And, as a bonus project…learn to hyperlink my chapters to a table of contents.

I can’t help but think of one of my favorite little scenes from ‘The Princess Bride’:

Prince Humperdinck: [sincerely] Tyrone, you know how much I love watching you work, but I’ve got my country’s 500th anniversary to plan, my wedding to arrange, my wife to murder and Guilder to frame for it; I’m swamped.
Count Rugen: Get some rest. If you haven’t got your health, then you haven’t got anything.

Don’t think I’ll be sleeping much between now and July 3…but I think it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

