Evolution of “Reading”

My daughter loves reading! And oh…do we love that.

My wife and I have had conversations about how sad we would be if we could not pass on the love of books and reading to our little girl!

Our reading has taken a step in recent weeks since we introduced the film “Mary Poppins” to our four year old (her first full length movie ever!) she has been fascinated by Jane and Michael Banks and their Nanny.

We sing the songs, we play act the scenes and, since I told her it was a series of books by P.L. Travers, have taken one out from the library.

It is not what we have grown accustomed to. It has some illustrations from time to time, but is certainly no Sandra Boynton or Rosemary Wells story with wonderful picture to almost tell the story without words.

It is straight reading aloud to a pre-schooler. At first she didn’t like it but as we passed the second chapter she seemed to finally ‘get it’. I was speaking the story and SHE could make up the pictures in her head.

Today I sat on the bed for ‘quiet-time’ (our I-refuse-to-take-naps-anymore substitute time) and she put her head on my shoulder as I read and just looked at the page while I read. It was a sweet and snuggley moment wherein I realized: My little girl is growing up!

I quizzed her a little afterward to see if she was following the story or if it was too tough and she answered all my questions easily: the little dog Andrew ran away, he didn’t like wearing the little coats and shoes Miss Lark Next Door dressed him in, Mary Poppins could understand his yipping and yapping etc.

She has taken a step forward almost without our realizing it and was content to hear me read even if there were no bright colors or cartooney characters to inspire us.

So whatever happens in this giant world, wherever our little girl may roam she will always have this: Words are Magic and they can take her ANYWHERE!

I am a happy Dad.

3 thoughts on “Evolution of “Reading””

  1. it warms my heart to see how much our girl loves books. it reminds me of a little man that poured over his Sesame Street books by the HOURS,,,,

Leave a Reply

